Alumni in the making

Winter Street Architects has a rich, professional-level internship program for interior designers and proudly attracts wanna-be Winter Streeters from our favorite local schools every semester.  This fall we feature three fabulous design interns from Endicott College.  We posed our new recruits with questions on their design style, internship expectations and dream project so you could get to know them.  Meet our newest Alumni in the making:

Johanna

Johanna Andruchovici
Endicott College 2010
B.S. Interior Design, concentration in Sustainable Design

1. Three words describing your personal design style? Bold, Diverse, Vibrant

2. What course in your studies has influenced you the most? Interior design 101. I’ve heard theories that you learn all you really need to know for life in Kindergarten, and maybe it’s somewhat true. Really thinking about it, if I go back to the basics I realize why I’ve been sticking with it through all the late nights, combating printers and software meltdowns. There is purpose to design, but there is also creative flare, and I learned from the start to think outside the box and never lose sight of either of those things.

3. How will this internship prepare you for your career? By offering me the ability to fully immerse myself into a world where science and art are one. It will hopefully ensure me that I am following the right career path, and if not, maybe I can get a few fun stories out of it and pursue a career as a writer.

4. Describe the project of your dreams. Ideally, a film set for a Tim Burton film. Something that is out of this world and saturated with bizarre shapes, forms and colors that you can completely lose yourself in. Though, I could settle for designing a restaurant for Steven Starr. He has practically monopolized the restaurant scene in Philadelphia and is spreading out to NY and Atlantic City. Each restaurant has its own style and atmosphere, but they are all consistently classy with an edge.

Caitlin

Caitlin Flynn
Endicott College 2010
B.S. Interior Design

1.  Three words describing your personal design style? Innovative, Creative, and Eclectic.

2.  What course in your studies has influenced you the most? The course that has influenced me the most would have to be a first year Media class, drawing & rendering. I liked learning the ability to do quick sketches to portray ideas.

3.  How will this internship prepare you for your career? This internship will help me to become more proficient in Revit, and gain experience in the professional world.

4.  Describe the project of your dreams. If I could design anything I wanted it would have to be a luxurious interior of a yacht, for a company like Trinity Yachts.

Michelle

Michelle Belanger
Endicott College 2010
B.S. Interior Design

1. Three words describing your personal design style? Imaginative, Inspired, Eclectic

2. What course in your studies has influenced you the most? INT 200: my internship in London because it gave me my first international experience and opened my eyes to studying and exploring as many new and different countries and cultures I could.

3. How will this internship prepare you for your career? It will give me first hand experience working in a firm that works on an a vast array of project types.

4. Describe the project of your dreams. It would be on projects within Fenway Park, such as the team locker rooms, front office, press rooms, and luxury seating areas.

Leave a Reply

