Fall 2010 Alumni in the Making

Winter Street Architects has a rich, professional-level internship program for interior designers and proudly attracts wanna-be Winter Streeters from our favorite local schools every semester.  This fall we feature three fabulous design interns from Endicott College.  We posed our new recruits with questions on their design style, internship expectations and dream project so you could get to know them.  Meet our newest Alumni in the making:

Alexandra Yavarow

Endicott College 2011

B.S. Interior Design, concentration in Sustainable Design

What three words describe your personal design style?

Thoughtful, inspired, welcoming.

What course in your studies has influenced you the most?

My first sustainable studio class, Intermediate Sustainable Interior Design Studio.  When I declared my concentration in sustainability at the end of my first year, I knew I had found the perfect major that was a blend of all my interests.  My love of design and architecture were melded with my respect and concern for the environment, thus reigniting a passion for design and sustainability.  That class helped me learn more about environmentally conscious design and gave me skills that I currently use and will continue to use in my future designs.

How do you think this internship experience will prepare you for your career?

I can already tell  that Winter Street Architects will prepare me for my career.  In the past, I had only worked for smaller firms, mainly focusing on residential design.  Working at Winter Street Architects, I have already gained knowledge about working in a larger company that works on several different types of projects.  I have also already improved my computer skills, and I am learning what it is like to design with a budget (as opposed to designing in a fantastical world with no monetary boundaries as I do in school.)

If you could design anything you wanted for the client of your dreams, what would it be and for who?

I know it sounds silly, but I would love to design an office, a workspace, a home or even a barn for Martha Stewart.  Yes, the Martha Stewart who went to jail.  When I was growing up, she was a real inspiration for me.  I remember I wanted to be her when I was about ten years old.  She just executes everything she does with such finesse and perfection (again, jail time aside).  If I could design something for her that she loved, it would be like fulfilling a childhood dream.

Chris Dunn

Endicott College 2010

B.S. Interior Design, concentration in Sustainable Design

What three words describe your personal design style?

Cohesive, resourceful, practical

What course in your studies has influenced you the most?

That course would have to be History of Architecture and Interior Design II. It opened my eyes to a number of different design techniques and theories along with aesthetic values. I have to admit that before the class started, I didn’t think I was going to enjoy it, but I didn’t mind heading into that classroom every Tuesday and Thursday at 11 am. Plus, it allowed me to sleep in.

How do you think this internship experience will prepare you for your career?

This is my first internship in an architectural firm, so I am sure I will learn a great deal during it. I plan on going to graduate school for architecture and I believe that working closely with  Winter Street Architects will allow me to learn most of the ins and outs of the profession.

If you could design anything you wanted for the client of your dreams, what would it be and for who?

I would design a 32’ sailboat made completely out of recycled materials for my father. I would want to design everything from the keel to the sails, most likely with the help of a marine engineer so that it stays afloat. It would be a challenging but fun project and as an added bonus, I would be able to sail it.

Joanne Nhip

Endicott College 2011

B.S. Interior Design, concentration in Sustainable Design

What three words describe your personal design style?

Classic: I am infatuated with white & black; a classic color combination; Balanced: I desire symmetry & it has to make sense; Conceptual: Design starts with a vision.

What course in your studies has influenced you the most?

Dance Techniques & Production: This dance class was an artistic discipline unrelated to interior design but it still challenged me creatively. I always felt inspired after having a class that allowed me to move freely & express myself without thinking & without pressure. Dance opened my eyes & ears to rhythm, repetition, improvisation, & flexibility which all can be applied to interior design.

How do you think this internship experience will prepare you for your career?

Winter Street has an eclectic group of personalities & projects! Therefore, I have high hopes of leaving this experience more technologically savvy than I came & full of excitement to jumpstart my career without any fear of the unexpected. But most importantly, it will ease me into the corporate structure of 9-5 workdays!

If you could design anything you wanted for the client of your dreams, what would it be and for who?

I’ve heard that designing for yourself is a challenge, but it has always been a pipe dream of mine to own a flower shop/café business. To design that & have an unlimited budget to do so would be a dream come true.

Leave a Reply

